Message sent from:

Curriculum Intent

The curriculum at Appleton Thorn is designed to provide a broad and balanced education that meets the needs of all pupils and gives them the skills, knowledge and understanding to prepare them for their next stage of education.

It ensures that academic success, creativity and problem solving, reliability, responsibility and resilience, as well as physical development, well-being and mental health are key elements that support the development of the whole child and promote a positive attitude to learning.

The curriculum celebrates the diversity and utilises the skills, knowledge and cultural wealth of the community while supporting the pupils’ spiritual, moral, social and cultural development. 

Curriculum Implementation

Our curriculum is designed to enable our children develop new skills and knowledge through effective and supportive leadership from our teaching team.  Teachers plan for each term, based on a text that inspires children and reflects the objectives required within each year group.  

Curriculum leaders construct a curriculum that is ambitious and designed to give all learners, including the most disadvantaged and those with special educational needs and/or disabilities (SEND), the knowledge and resilience that they need to progress onto the next stage of learning and succeed in life.  

Learners have input into the curriculum and teachers base their lessons on their understanding of next steps in learning. We focus on ‘Knowing More, Remembering More’.  Fundamental British Values play an important part in day to day education with a focus on a different value each half term.

Curriculum Assessment

Teachers use a range of assessment tools to ensure pupils progress through the curriculum.  These include a primarily formative assessment approach that informs teaching and learning.  For example: knowledge quizzes, live marking, feedback and end of unit assessments

Curriculum Impact

Our pupils are enthusiastic learners who demonstrate a very high understanding of spiritual, moral, social and cultural development.  Pupils of all needs make excellent progress from their starting points, mastering key knowledge and skills within reading, writing and maths.  All pupils develop a range of skills and acquire vital knowledge within all National Curriculum subjects, giving them a solid foundation on which to build as they progress onto their next phase of learning and are high school ready. 

Hit enter to search