Message sent from:

Appleton Thorn Primary School Governing Body

Appleton Thorn Primary School is a member of The Challenge Academy Trust (TCAT). The academy transferred on 1st April having previously been a local authority maintained school. The Challenge Academy Trust is directly responsible to the Secretary of State for the operation of its member academies. It is a company limited by guarantee registered at Companies House. The company number is 10689247. The registered office is c/o Priestley College, Loushers Lane, Warrington, WA4 6RD.

For further details of The Challenge Academy Trust please click here

The Local Governing Body meet nine times a year. The full governing body meetings revolve around the educational provision and business, finance and personnel.

Anyone who is eighteen or over, a legal resident of the UK and not disqualified under the School Governance Constitution (England) Regulations 2003 is eligible for the role. You do not need to be a parent or have any particular qualifications to become a governor, enthusiasm and a desire to make a difference are the most important qualities a volunteer can have.

Appleton Thorn Primary is an inclusive school where equality is a core principle.  The Governing Body will work in partnership with the Head to develop and drive the strategic vision of the school and to ensure a whole school culture and environment within which everyone is empowered to work together to achieve success.

The Governing Body will hold the school to account with regard to achievement, challenging it to promote excellent progress, high expectations and enjoyment for all, in an exciting, creative and innovative learning culture where children are safe and feel confident, engaged and fulfilled. 

We will oversee the effective leadership and management of the school to ensure that the provision for the children is the best that it can be.  The Governing Body will encourage the school to secure the commitment of the wider community to Appleton Thorn Primary, by engendering productive partnerships with, for example, schools, other services and agencies for children, the Local Authority, higher education institutions and employers.

CHAIR OF GOVERNORS                    Paul Otter (Parent Governor)

VICE CHAIR OF GOVERNORS           Simon Birtwistle (Co-opted Governor)

Parent Governors         Co - opted Governors       Staff Governors   Headteacher      Community Governor 
Paul Otter  John Warren Julie Railton  Zoe Jones Caroline Riley 
Jamie Murphy    Simon Birtwistle        
Joanna Metcalf Tracey Hatton      
  Heather Varley      
  Richard Jackson      


Staff Appointments Committee Pupil Discipline Committee
Any three governors subject to impartiality Any three governors subject to impartiality
Staff Dismissal Committee Appeals/Complaints Committee
Any three governors subject to impartiality Any three governors subject to impartiality
Specific Responsibilities  
Wellbeing  Heather Varley 
Safeguarding Richard Jackson
Pupil Premium/SEND Caroline Riley 

Health & Safety

 Paul Otter 
Hit enter to search